Hormead CofE School was founded in 1815, and in its current building since 1846. The school was originally based in a school room built next to St Nicholas Church. In 1846, following a generous gift of land, the hall and kitchens we have now were built as the school room and accommodation for the teacher.
Over the years, the school has grown along with demand for more learning space. Extensions and alterations to the building have been added, including in 1970 an outdoor swimming pool, unfortunately since removed. The main school is now based in a separate building next to the old Victorian school, and we use the old building as our hall, kitchen and teacher resource base.
From time to time, we dig out the old archives and display them for all to see - there are some fascinating items in the school logs, especially since many of the families featured are still based in the local area, and some of the children attending today descended from them.