Hormead C of E
First and Nursery School

"Love of Learning, Love of Life Itself and Love of God"

"I have come that they may have life and have it to the full." John 10:10

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

Overview of EYFS at Hormead

EYFS at Hormead comprises of Hormead Hedgehogs, our preschool for 2-4 year old nursery children, and our Reception Class (Ash Class). 

Hormead Hedgehogs

To find out more about our preschool for children from the ages of 2 to 4 and how to apply for a place, please visit the link below.

EYFS - Reception (Ash Class) 

Children in our Reception Class, Ash Class, have access to a well-equipped classroom and spacious outdoor area to facilitate their learning.


A typical day in Reception consists of a mixture of both adult-led sessions (e.g. Phonics, Literacy, Maths, RE) and child-initiated play (known to our children as "busy learning"). Child-initiated play occupies a larger proportion of our day as learning through play is the most crucial part of our EYFS ethos.


You can visit our class page on the website for regular updates such as our fortnightly curriculum newsletter. 

Areas of Learning

Through the Early Years Foundation Stage, there are 7 areas of learning which underpin our curriculum:


  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development
  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design


Please see below for examples of these areas of learning 'in action' as our children take part in their own child-initiated play, as well as a range of varied adult led sessions. 

Communication and Language

Physical Development

Personal, Social and Emotional Development



Understanding the World

Expressive Arts and Design