Hormead C of E
First and Nursery School

"Love of Learning, Love of Life, Love of God"


The Governors of Hormead CofE First School come from a range of professional backgrounds, reflecting the many interest groups in our school.

We are dedicated to ensuring that the children in our school have the best education possible. The primary focus of our role involves working in partnership with the school, parents and children to get the best outcomes for all.

We together have a team of dedicated governors who bring a high level of expertise, knowledge and community links in supporting Hormead School. The Governing Board and Headteacher, together constitute the leadership of the school.

Governing Board

Foundation Parochial Church Council Appointed

Jane Mitchell

Lizzie Barclay

James Wyld

Steve Churchill

Foundation Diocesan Board of Education Appointed

Michael Johnson

Vacancy (1)


Lynda Cowler

Foundation Ex-Officio

Revd James Sawyer


Douglas Brown

Sam Pegram


Lauren Hill

Local Authority

David Gaine

Associate Member

Gillian Holland